Drowning In Content

Posted: 2 July 2012 in Administrivia

Just a quick update.  I got in to a bad habit with the blogs I read that I’m trying to dig myself out of.  There are a load of good D&D/RPG blogs out there, a handful of which are listed in my blogroll to the left there. I actually follow several dozen blogs, some that are more prolific than others, some that are more pertinent than others.  But I’m also trying to catch up on the archives of a bunch of these blogs, too, to help fuel the commentary and (most importantly) toolbox of game structures that I’m trying to build here.  At first  thought I could just flag things “to read” and get to them when time allowed, but that’s resulted in my being buried under an ever-increasing pile of posts to read.  I’m trying to dig myself out by breaking them up in different categories (GM Tips, Hobby Thoughs, 5th Edition, etc), but it’s slow going.  I’m hoping I don’t have to simply abandon these archives, but we’ll see if I can get it under control.

On that note, actually, if any of you know of good posts (especially posts about “here’s a system to address X”), I’m open for suggestions.

Comments
  1. There a few blogs out there that could do with being a touch less prolific. Sometimes the stuff they’re writing about needs time to be absorbed, to sink in. If they’re doing content that absorbing, every day, some of it is just going to slide off as the reader moves on to the next post.

  2. Brendan says:

    I know the feeling. Blog archives, new blog entries, G+, old books to revisit (and visit for the first time). It is an embarrassment of riches.

    Personally, I try to never do the “save to read later” thing as it just feels like adding things to a todo list. I either read it right away or trust that I will be able to find it later with a search engine.

    http://osrsearch.blogspot.com/ works pretty well (disclaimer: I maintain it).

    • Jack says:

      Yeah, I’m pretty terrible at finding things after the fact; I try to pin it down somewhere I’ll see it, or else it’s lost to the ether. Even when I *know* where it is, it’s a pain remembering to find it. OSR Search sounds neat, though, and I think shameless self-promotion is to be encouraged (so long as it’s relevant).

Leave a Reply

